How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat?

Blocking someone is a great way to prevent online harassment on Snapchat. But if you block someone out of spite, you may want to reconnect and unblock the user you’ve previously blocked.

Blocking a user is a way to absolutely disconnect from someone on Snapchat. Thus, only unblocking them can allow you to reconnect with them.

Unblocking someone on Snapchat is as really easy. You need to access your profile settings and get to the Blocked Users page to do so. 

How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat?

Blocked Snapchat users are removed from your chat feed and friends list. To contact them again, you need to unblock them and add them as your friend. 

The method to unblock a user on Snapchat is the same on both Android and iOS devices. Follow the steps mentioned below to unblock them.

  1. Open Snapchat on your phone.
  2. Tap on your profile icon at the top left corner of the screen.
  3. Tap on the cog wheel (settings) icon at the top right corner.
  4. Scroll down to the Privacy Controls section and tap on Blocked users or Blocked.
  5. Locate and tap on the “X” button next to the user you want to unblock.
  6. Tap on Yes on the reconfirmation pop-up.

After you complete these steps, you need to send them a friend request. While unblocking the users, you need to remember their usernames. Then, you can follow the steps below to add them as your friend. 

  1. Go to the chat feed.
  2. Tap on the search bar at the top.
  3. Input the username of the blocked user and tap on search.
  4. Tap on the person’s profile and tap on Add.

How to Block Someone on Snapchat?

Blocking a user instantly removes them from your friend list and chat feeds and removes your snap streak with them. You will immediately stop seeing their messages. However, there isn’t any visible change for the person that you’ve blocked. 

Click on Block - How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat

Blocked users will be able to send snaps to you normally but their snaps get blocked before they reach you.

If you’ve unblocked someone you shouldn’t have, you can follow the steps mentioned below to block them.

  1. Open Snapchat and tap on the chat icon at the bottom.
  2. Locate and tap on the profile icon of the user you want to block.
  3. Tap on the three-dot icon at the top right corner.
  4. Tap on Manage Friendship.
  5. Tap on Block.
  6. Tap on Block on the reconfirmation menu.

This allows you to unblock someone on Snapchat.

How to Mute someone on Snapchat?

Muting someone on Snapchat basically means restricting notifications from the specific user.

It can help you if you want to unblock a user but still don’t want updates about their snaps. You can follow the steps mentioned below to do so.

  1. Open Snapchat and open the chat feed.
  2. Tap on the bitmoji of the user.
  3. Tap on the three-dot icon at the top.
  4. Tap on Chat Settings.
  5. Tap on the toggle button next to the Message Notifications.

Our Assessment

Unblocking someone you’ve blocked in the past is not a bad idea if you want to reconnect with them. 

Unlike Instagram or Facebook, detecting that you’ve been blocked on Snapchat isn’t easy. So, in a way, Snapchat also helps you.

Another alternative to blocking someone is to mute their notifications after you’ve unblocked them.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why Can’t I Unblock Someone on Snapchat?

All the users that you’ve blocked on Snapchat appear on the Blocked Users list. If you’re unable to see a specific user, there are three potential causes.

  • You’re confused and probably haven’t blocked them. So, search for their profile in the search bar. 
  • The Snapchat user has deactivated or deleted their Snapchat account.
  • The person you’re trying to block has blocked you

How Do You Find the User After They’re Unblocked?

Snapchat users aren’t added back as your friends after you unblock them. You need to search for them via the search bar and re-add them as your friend. You can follow the steps mentioned earlier in the article to do so.

Can You Unblock Someone on Snapchat’s Web?

No, Snapchat hasn’t added the block/unblock feature on Snapchat yet.

The web version of the app is in its initial phases and only has a few settings available. In terms of regular Snapchatting, you can only chat or send Snaps on the Snapchat web. 

How Do I See My Blocked List on Snapchat?

You can see your blocked list on Snapchat by going through Profile > Settings icon > Blocked Users. Otherwise, you can follow the steps at the top to do the same.

If I Unblock Someone on Snapchat, Will They Know?

Snapchat does not notify users if you block or unblock them.

If you want to let someone know that you’ve unblocked them, you need to personally reach out to them. You could also add them back as your friends and tell them about it.

Liam Johnson
Liam Johnson

Liam is a tech enthusiast with a knack for helping others use the internet and computer software. He focuses on "HOW TOs" and "FIXES" at SpllittzTech to make your experience with technology better each day.

Articles: 36

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *