How to Know if Someone Blocked You on iMessage? (Try These 4 Methods)

Apple does not notify you if someone blocked you on iMessage. If you send an iMessage to someone who blocked you, your device doesn’t show any significant difference in the appearance of the message.

So, you may be wondering if there is still a way to determine if you have been blocked.

Paying attention to the sent status or appearance of the message can help you determine if someone blocked you on iMessage. But it’s impossible to know if someone has indeed blocked you. 

You can use other platforms to get in touch with the person, but if you are unable to do so, we have curated an easy-to-use guide that you can use.

How to Know if Someone Blocked You on iMessage

Getting blocked on iMessage is different from other messaging apps or social media platforms. If you’re thinking about how to tell if someone blocked you on iMessage, we have four methods for that. The fourth method might seem obvious, but stay with us.

Method 1: Check Text Bubble Color

iMessage works the same way as text messages sent through your SIM card. However, they need an internet connection to transfer messages through iCloud. Such iMessages that you send out or receive have a blue text bubble. 

On the other hand, normal text messages sent through your SIM card have a green text bubble. When your internet connection isn’t working, Apple will switch from Apple’s cloud to your SIM to send iMessage, too. 

If the color of your text is green, even with a working internet connection, or if iMessage is sent as a text message, it is one of the best signs that the receiver has blocked you on iMessage.

You can verify it by turning off your device’s Send as SMS feature and resending your text. Follow the steps mentioned below to do so.

  1. Open Settings on your device.
  2. Tap on Messages.
  3. Tap on the toggle button on Send as SMS and turn it off.

If your text bubble is still green, then you’ve been blocked. However, you need to ensure that the recipient uses an Apple device. iMessages sent to Android users are sent as SMS and have a green text bubble.

Method 2: Check the Message Status

You normally receive two message statuses on iMessage. They are mentioned below.

  • Delivered – When your iMessages are sent to the target recipient.
  • Read – When your messages are opened by the recipient.

When you send an iMessage, you will normally see these message statuses at the bottom right side of your text.

So, you may think, will iMessage say delivered if you’re blocked?

You will not see either of these if the recipient has blocked you on iMessage. In such a situation, the space under your text remains empty. Afterward, your device will try to send the message as a normal SMS.

Check the Delivery Status How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Snapchat

You will not be blocked if your text message has a red “Not Delivered” indicator underneath it. This message appears when the receiver has turned off their phone or has it on Airplane or Do Not Disturb mode. 

Method 3: Text From a Separate Number

If you do not get a blue text bubble and both of the “Delivered” or “Read” notifications are missing, then there are a few possibilities for it.

In addition to your account being blocked, the recipient may have a poor internet connection or their cellular data turned off.

To verify if someone has, in fact, blocked you, you can try using a separate device with a separate Apple account.

Then, send an iMessage to the contact you suspect has blocked you. Then, examine the color of the text bubble and Message status.

Method 4: Call the Person

You can try calling the person to see if they have blocked you on iMessage. Normally, you will hear a ringing sound. But you cannot talk to them if they have blocked you.

You’ll hear a single ring followed by an automated voice reply stating that the user is unavailable. This way, Apple lets the blocked user feel like the recipient cut their call after a single ring.

In some cases, the call gets cut off immediately without any ring. So, you should make multiple calls to the person to make sure this is true.

However, the receiver may also have their Do Not Disturb mode on. So, try calling them after a few hours.

Liam Johnson
Liam Johnson

Liam is a tech enthusiast with a knack for helping others use the internet and computer software. He focuses on "HOW TOs" and "FIXES" at SpllittzTech to make your experience with technology better each day.

Articles: 36

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *